We did it...first solo hack, little bit scary!!

Bunnylover

Apr 18, 2008
Nr Chelmsford, Essex
I was determined this afternoon to get my pony out on his own, being as the weather was lovely!! I didn't think he would even go out of the gate without his mates, but, not only did he leave them behind, he completed a circuit!! I've only had him 6 months and we've been going out in company. I am a novice rider too, so he had a lot to contend with. He tried to spin round a few times to come home, but I tried to remain confident and turned him back round and pushed him on!! The scary side of things were that he spooked quite badly at a lorry on the way back, which seemed to make him lose some of his confidence and then feel nervous of a few other vehicles, when in company, he doesn't seem too bothered by anything. I tried not to let it worry me, but I did wonder if I should get off and walk him back, however, I stayed put and held my nerve! Phew, I was sweating buckets when we returned!! I would say 80% enjoyable and even with the spooking i was really proud of him. Has made me feel we can improve and move forward with our solo hacking!!

Is it just a case of keep on with this type of thing? I must admit I hate riding on any roads really, but where we are we have to go on roads to get off of them!! Any other ideas for building both our confidence, we do have regular lessons to get him listening to me, which seemed to work for the most part today!! Just practice I guess and more groundwork!! Gonna have a nice cuppa tea now, mouth was dry with nerves!!

xx

Fantastic, hope you had a celebratory drink tonight something a bit stronger than tea :p You deserve it.

You have come on so well in the past six months.

My only complaint is we dont see enough pictures of you both :p