What is le trek?

What is Le Trec

Le Trec is quite new over here in the uk, and it's surprising how many people have not heard of it, so your not alone there. I am new to the Trec scene. The BHS has a Trec Site you may want to look up. But to tell you what I know. It's an event that has three phases. Orentering, PTV obsticales and paces. It is very interesting and the best thing about this is you can do it in western tack if you like. Orentering- You are given a map with ten minutes to copy the route through the country side, depends what level your at as to how long the route is, you can go solo or in pairs. PTV obsticales, just things like loading into a trailer and walking straight out the other side, reining back, making your horse stand in a circle for 10 seconds, and so on. There are 26 differnt events in the rule book. The paces are usually in a straight line of 150 meters, you have to canter as slow as you can one way and then walk as fast as you can back with out breaking the pace. I hope this has been of some use to you. Buy I warn you if you go to just watch the 1st event, you'll want to rush home get your horse and have a go. The thing is you dont get eliminated if you don't want to do one of the bits of the event, you just dont get any points. So if say you don't want to jump, you tell the steward and you could still win the event.

I want to try that!!

Its sounds like good fun and a real test of horse and rider...
It makes me miss the pony I used to ride, she was completely bomb proof and would so well in all those loading and standing still and things!!! She is an Exmoor, ahhhhh I miss her!!!
Do you know whereabouts these events are held? I would love to go along and watch one.:)

le-trec

Catabloo has just given you some really good information.

We have a Le-trec every year through Telford Bridalways, our main events are:

In and out of cones
150 meters of pace (timed)
box in and out of a pony trailer
opening and shutting a gate