Would love to get back into riding but....

Kezzabelle

LOVE IT
Nov 28, 2002
Scotland!
Visit site
Im scared :( basically.

I should re-introduce myself as basically im a lurker on here (due to my lack of horseness) I started riding when i was 10, went to a not so good riding school for 5 years (!) as it was the only 1 in my area and i was horse mad. I didnt learn as much as i should have really and how i was taught wasnt very good. At 15, i gave up riding and then took it up up again at 19 went to a weekly lesson at a further away riding school. I had to give up due to work. A few months later i met an old work friend in a club who needed help with her horse. I took her horse on part loan over the summer last year, but the whole time i was pretty nervy. Her horse was a great eventer, very forward going etc and a bit of a madam at times. - Totally not what i was used to (used to riding ploddies). At the end of the summer i had to give her up due to college.

Im finishing college in January and i miss riding. I'd love to get back into it but my confidence is shattered and ive no idea why :confused: Ive never had a bad accident. I worry about falling off and due to being a bit over weight i worry about seriously injuring myself if i hit the deck.

Thanks for reading, i would be greatful for any advice.

Kez xx

i would say, look around at all the riding schools you have access to and get a few private lessons, even once a fortnight or something if its far away or expensive and tell them you are a bit nervous.
Hopefully this would get your confidence up.

I'm in a similar position to you - I rode from when I was 7 to when I was about 15, gave it up and just recently took it up again (age 18). When I started riding again I found that I had lost a lot of confidence - even though I had had no accidents or even scary incidents.