Bit of advice needed

Tink

Feb 27, 2008
Flintshire
My coblet has always had wet poos, no matter what she's fed.
We've tried feed balancers, just feeding alfalfa etc, but her poos have always stayed 'wet'. She's regually wormed etc and I've had her since she was a baby so I know she's always been regually wormed etc.

She's currently fed on good quality haylege, chaff, unmollassed sugarbeet and topline cubes. Her poops are better than ever on this diet, but they're still a rather wet.

I've been told to try her on alfabeet or fibre beet to try and harden her poos up a bit.

Any suggestions/comments on this??

I have no experience of cobs so this might not work, but does she need the sugar beet? I just wonder if its just making things too wet and that's the reason for wet poo.

My coblet has always had wet poos, no matter what she's fed.
We've tried feed balancers, just feeding alfalfa etc, but her poos have always stayed 'wet'. She's regually wormed etc and I've had her since she was a baby so I know she's always been regually wormed etc.

She's currently fed on good quality haylege, chaff, unmollassed sugarbeet and topline cubes. Her poops are better than ever on this diet, but they're still a rather wet.

I've been told to try her on alfabeet or fibre beet to try and harden her poos up a bit.

Any suggestions/comments on this??

Perhaps what you are feeding is just too rich? Perhaps the hayledge is too good a quailty for her - especially when mixed with so much extra food! And sugar beet! That will add to the problem!

What is her weight like? does she keep it easily? Is she an excitable type?

You could try cutting back on the feed (sugarbeet) and giving more HAY. Keep it a little simpler, and add extra hard feed only if she is losing condition.
If shes in hard work, then add a little more hard feed into the equation - but make sure there is more roughage than anything else.