Sharing a horse

Laura44

Mar 6, 2017
What's the best way to go about finding a share horse? I'm a complete novice, only been riding since Feb but the only way I'm going to improve is more saddle time. The only way I can see I can do this is to take on a share/part loan. Where should I be looking? Ps I have no horsey friends, so can't just impose myself on them!

Reactions: Native Lover
It is very easy for new riders to work out that what they need is saddle time and that the best way to get this is by sharing. I am going to be blunt and tell you that this is not the moment.

Let us suppose you did find an owner who was looking for a sharer. In return you will either have to help look after the horse or use up some of your lesson budget. And you may well need the owner to teach you as well? Remember that riding is only part of the picture - you need to learn how to manage a horse from the ground, how to pick out the feet and groom it.

You may be lucky and find free tuition from an owner, but your best bet is to do a BHS Stable Management course or help out at your riding school. It wont get you more saddle time, but it will equip you to start looking for a share a year from now. In the mean time, do indeed look for saddle time but going on trail rides perhaps, riding in a group or riding as many different horses as possible.

I was offered my share by someone who had ahorse that needed hacking and knew me - networking is the best way. After I had ridden for about 2 years and was happy hacking and cantering, we went round local livery yards asking if anyone was looking for a sharer and I was offered a horse on the spot. I didnt take that one. But it is what I recommend doing. But as I said, not yet.

Reactions: Native Lover
It is very easy for new riders to work out that what they need is saddle time and that the best way to get this is by sharing. I am going to be blunt and tell you that this is not the moment.