Am I & my friend the only one, or do others think that Body Protectors...

I've Arrived_

Aug 31, 2009
The Worst Town In Scotland
Do more harm than good?
I'm not terribly keen on them personally, although I own an upto standard one, as does my friend.

I feel it restricts your movement, especially when jumping, so more likey to fall off then? :confused:
And my friend had a not so bad fall which she would have been alright & not have gotten whiplash at a show if she didn't have it on as it shot up and hit her neck.

What's other people's views?

I don't wear them unless absolutely neccessary because I find they restrict me too much. I do however insist on children wearing them as I do think they help.

I think my problem is I have been riding without one for thirty years or so and I just can't get used to them.

I only wear one for XC, and after having a Racesafe I could never have anything else!
I don't wear one for anything else, even hunting - far too hot!

I have allways worn one since i could horse ride

I've Arrived_ i see it says the worst town in scotland as location may I ask were?

personally when jumping i always wear one, i know they don't protect a great deal, if anything they'd just stop me getting winded if i fell. For me its more of the fact that i feel more secure and confident when i wear one than without, i have been wearing one for so long now, i feel vunerable and bare without one when jumping.

I think its just personal preference though really, some people cannot ride in them at all and just tip forwards all the time, for others it helps them sit tall though.

I only ever wear one for XC, and that is the airowear black&yellow one, got it as an early birthday present :)

Well I've just had to order one to wear for jump cross and xc and my instructor has said she'll need to give me a couple of lesson's while wearing it cos it's bound to '**** up all you've learnt'!! So can't say I'm keen to get it on to be honest!!!:rolleyes: